What makes someone start cycling?

I took up cycling regularly just over a year ago. I’d just started a new job having gone through a period of working from home, and couldn’t face the cost and the discomfort of using London’s underground transport system. My new firm had a shiny new office, with secure underground parking, luxurious showers, and rows upon rows of lockers, just waiting to be occupied. It would’ve been rude not to. At least for one day a week.

So one day I packed my bag, jumped on the bike, and rode. I had driven the route before, so knew where to go, and followed my instincts to Canary Wharf. After 9 miles I was absolutely exhausted, and wasn’t sure that cycling into work and a productive day at work were compatible. It got easier though, and before long I was cycling to work every day. The exercise became easier and the journey became a pleasure, not just a means to get to my workplace.

It’s not as if I had never cycled before – I had. But before my bike had spent most of its time in the bike cupboard. Now, I was using it every day – and travelling what I’d previously considered to be long distances.

I even started reading blogs on cycling. What a geek!

This entry was posted in starting out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment